The Neuroscience Program recognises students who have made a significant contribution to the program and research at UBC.

Second Year Awards

1. Outstanding Second-Year Student Leadership in Neuroscience: A service/leadership-based award designed to recognize an outstanding student leader in our undergraduate neuroscience program. 

2023 Winner: Aditya Swaro

Aditya (Adi) is a third-year student studying cellular & molecular neuroscience. Adi is passionate about teaching and mentorship. This year, he founded the UPN’s newsletter and organized journal clubs to help students get involved in the neuroscience community. Adi’s research interests lie in using computational methods to delineate molecular landscapes and mechanisms in the brain. He currently does this at the Cembrowski Lab, where he uses spatial transcriptomics to understand the impact of TBI. In his free time, Adi loves to practice Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and play soccer.

2. Outstanding Second-Year Research Contributions: An award recognizing the student showing the greatest engagement within a neuroscience research lab at UBC.  

2023 Winner: Neilan Tan

Neilan is a current third-year student in the Undergraduate Neuroscience Program at the University of British Columbia. Alongside his studies, he also works on research related to Age-related Macular Degeneration at the Matsubara Lab. Neilan has been part of many projects ranging from studying ocular subretinal fibrotic lesions to deciphering the role of mast cell immune functions. Recently, Neilan’s contribution to research has been highlighted in a journal publication about the interactions between Granzyme B and Thrombospondin-1 in Choroidal Neovascularization and Age-related Macular Degeneration.